Mt. Lorne Local Advisory Council logo

Mt. Lorne Local Advisory Council (LAC or Council)

The Hamlet of Mt. Lorne was established in 1990 and the first Local Advisory Council (LAC) was elected. LAC’s are governed by the Municipal Act and are an advisory body with no legal status. The Mt. Lorne LAC is elected from residents in legislatively defined boundaries of the hamlet called Wards: Kookatsoon Lake, Cowley Lake, Robinson, The Meadows and Annie Lake Road. Elections are held every three years. Council meetings are held once a month and are open to the public. LAC’s receive annual operational funding from the Yukon Government for which they are accountable.



The council´s mandate is

  1. To advise the Minister on:
    •  What works or services are required within the local advisory area and how these should be supplied
    • The regulations deemed desirable for the benefit of the residents; and
    • Any other matter of local concern
  2. To facilitate community involvement in matters concerning the community

Operating Policy

First Nations Lands

The boundaries of Mt. Lorne fall within the traditional territories of two First Nations, the Kwanlin Dun First Nation and the Carcross/Tagish First Nation. members of both First Nations live within Mt. Lorne and a representative of the Carcross/Tagish First Nation takes part in the regular council meetings.